Rice Space Institute


RSI Logo

Our Goal

To establish the Rice Space Institute as a world leader in space science research and space technology development.


RSI News

Students for the Exploration and Development of Space


Our Purpose

The primary objective of Students for the Exploration and Development of Space (SEDS) Rice is to increase student passion for space disciplines in the Rice Community. Rice has a momentous history in the space industry dating from the creation of NASA and John F. Kennedy’s famous “We go to the Moon” speech in Rice Stadium. SEDS Rice aims to build on this history by providing students numerous opportunities to network with space industry professionals and share their ideas about space.



To view RSI's research connections in more detail please view RSI's Research Connections page which organizes faculty research affiliates according to research areas or NASA Taxonomy Information page which provides information on the NASA Technology Taxonomy and how our faculty affiliates match with it.

Advanced Materials, Nanotechnology, and Mechanical Engineering Naomi Halas, Pulickel Ajayan, Jun Lou, Michael Wong, Pedro Alvarez, Stephan Link, Alberto Pimpinelli, Gururaj Naik, Matthew Brake, Smalley-Curl Institute, NEWT, and RCQM
Aeronautics and Aerospace Patrick Rodi
Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning Devika Subramanian, Moshe Vardi, and Angela Wilkins (Ken Kennedy Institute)
Bioengineering Rebecca Richards-Kortum, Tomasz Tkaczyk, Jane Grande-Allen, Paul Cherukuri, Institute of Biosciences and Bioengineering, and Rice360
Biosciences Kathleen Beckingham, Yousif Shamoo, Matthew Wettergreen, and Amy Dunham
Chemistry Jim Tour, Matteo Pasquali, Christy Landes and Lisa Biswal
Earth, Environment, and Planetary Sciences Cin-Ty Lee, Kristen Siebach, Rajdeep Dasgupta, Pedram Hassanzadeh, Adrian Lenardic and Laurence Yeung
Data Sciences Anastasios Kyrillidis, Richard Baraniuk, Chris Tunnell, Genevera Allen, Katherine B. Ensor, Erzsébet Merényi and Spatial Studies Lab
Human Systems Interactions Akane Sano, Margaret Beier, Michael Byrne, Patricia DeLucia, Eduardo Salas, Erzsébet Merényi, and Phil Kortum
Networked Systems and Modeling Ang Chen (Networked Systems), Farès El-Dahdah (Modeling), and D2K
Robotics Fathi Ghorbel, Marcia O’Malley, and Lydia Kavraki
Sensors Leonardo Dueñas-Osorio and Ashutosh Sabharwal
Space and Science Policy George Abbey, Neal Lane, and Kirstin Matthews
Space Physics and Astronomy Frank Toffoletto, Patricia Reiff, Stephen Bradshaw, Chris Johns Krull, Matthew Baring, Patrick Hartigan, Andrea Isella, Megan Reiter, Anthony Chan, Douglas Natelson, Ming Yi, Jason Hafner, Edison Liang, and Thomas Killian

Featured Events